PHONE 703-779-0720 FAX 703-779-0730  



The Walker Law Firm, PLC is a different kind of law firm.   

Reckless Driving is a common traffic charge, but it can carry serious consequences. The State of
Virginia has designated Reckless Driving as a Class 1 misdemeanor, a crime with the same potential penalties as assault and battery, or a DUI charge. 

Of course, it is unlikely for someone with a normal driving record to go to jail for 12 months and pay the full $2,500.00 fine. However, depending on the speed you were traveling and your driving record, a few days in jail with a large fine and a loss of license is a real possibility.

The Walker Law Firm has a high success rate of plea bargaining with Commonwealth to amend the charge down from Reckless Driving to simple speeding, which saves our clients points on their driving record, keeps their insurance premiums low, and saves them money on court fines.  These savings more than offset our reasonable legal fees. 

So what do you do if you are one of the thousands of people every year who get charged with Reckless Driving in Virginia

First, do not plead guilty without the advice of counsel.  Even if you  not intend to hire an attorney you should at least consult with one.  As indicated above, there are serious consequences, and you should have an attorney counsel you concerning all possible defenses and consequences to the charge.

As mentioned above, our lawyers are very skilled in plea bargaining with the Commonwealth.  Our speeding ticket and reckless driving lawyers are in traffic court virtually every day and have a great working relationship with the courthouse staff.

Contact The Walker Law Firm today for your free case evaluation.  We are certain you will be satisfied with our services.

           You can reach us at 703-779-0720 or

There are several things that you can do to help The Walker Law Firm present your case to the Commonwealth Attorney and to the Judge. These things include:

1.    Get your speedometer calibrated if your vehicle has over 10,000 miles on it

2.    If there was an accident, obtain a letter from your insurance company accepting liability

3.     Order a copy of your 11 year driving record from the DMV



Sentencing occurs directly after the trial or right after your plea if you plead guilty to the charge without a trial. Judges take into account many factors when it comes to sentencing, including:


1.    The speed you were traveling;


2.   The overall dangerousness of the driving behavior;


3.      Additional charges picked up from the same behavior;


4.    Your driving record including previous convictions;


5.    Whether there were any injuries caused by the reckless driving;


6.     Whether any property damage caused has been paid for; and


7.     How you acted with the police officer at the scene of the stop.


Of course, sentencing is not an exact science. The only way to know exactly what will happen is to enter into a plea agreement. 


 Contact us today; we never have to charge for a case evaluation. 

    The Walker Law Firm, PLC

15 Loudoun St., SW, Suite C
Leesburg, Virginia 20175
Phone: 703-779-0720